Welcome to My Blog

11 Sep

This is my first post on my WordPress Blog which I will be using for Mr. Parker’s Advanced Placement English Language and Composition class in the 2011-2012 school year. My name is Spencer Blair and I attend the King Low Heywood Thomas School in Stamford, Connecticut.

My interests include sailing, tennis, ceramics, biking, reading, acting, politics, photography, debating, art, reading, and spending time with friends and family. Below is a picture of some ceramic work I have done.

My favorite books include “Catcher in the Rye,” “Of Mice and Men,” and “Lolita,” and my favorite movies are “A Time to Kill,” “Step Brothers,” “Donnie Darko,” “Slumdog Millionaire,” “Billy Madison,” The Reader,” “21,” “Orphan,” “Boys Don’t Cry,” and “Superbad.”

I have a wide variety of musical interests, but a few of my favorite musical artists include Cold War Kids, Turin Brakes, Vampire Weekend, The Beatles, Dispatch, The Rolling Stones, Josh Ritter, Bo Burnham, MGMT, Artist vs. Poet, Basshunter, Billy Joel, Bob Marley, Bon Jovi, Eagle Eye Cherry, The Police, Dan Mills, Eric Clapton, Guns n’ Roses, Queen, Slightly Stoopid, Semisonic, Third Eye Blind, Weezer, and many more. Below is a video of one of my favorite songs, “We Used to Vacation” by the Cold War Kids (I wanted to use an audio track but that requires a $20 upgrade):

Finally, I would like to leave you with a few of my favorite quotes:

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
-Aristotle

“A truly wise man knows how little he knows.”
-Unknown

“The only stable state is the one in which all men are equal before the law.”
-Aristotle

Thank you for reading my introductory post and I hope you continue to read my blog as I post about topics discussed in AP English Language.

-Spencer

One Response to “Welcome to My Blog”

  1. mrtedparker September 14, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Great introductory post, Spencer! Thanks for helping us to get to know you so thoroughly.

    -Mr. P

Leave a comment